Finally decided that I wanted to monitor some remote machines, but I'm way too lazy to set up Nagios from scratch. Really, I'm only going to be checking a few systems. I could write a cron script to do the same thing and alert me via SMS. As I said, though.. Lazy.

While I did find several suggestions after some quick searching, Opsview was the first thing I tried. It's basically a super easy way of installing and configuring Nagios. I just followed the newer Opsview Core install instructions for Ununtu 12.04. The one thing that made it extra slackin for me is that I had some old static-linked Nagios libexec binaries laying around that I could copy over to the systems being monitored. I didn't use any of the templates, just added a host and checked all the super simple stuff that didn't require an agent running on the remote machines.

If anyone ever reads this and wants, I can post a list of the other monitoring "front-ends" that I found. Some of them look nicer than Opsview, I think, which I only found out after I had installed it. It seems to work for now, though.



Leave a Reply.